Bridging the water

Co create to learn & experience



Dutch and South African cooperation
Various Dutch and South African partners work together in the project ‘Bridging the water’. TUDelft, Wateropleidingen/World Water Academy (delegated project manager), HS Rotterdam, CEW Leeuwarden and Waterschap Brabantse Delta on the Dutch side and University of Cape Town, Durban University of Technology, Salga, City of Cape Town and Ethekwini from South Africa. This consortium creates a diversity to make a successful project. The project is set up as an joint activity with Dutch universities and private suppliers and both South African and Dutch students.

World Water Academy

Contact: Gabriëlle Knufman

World Water Academy is the leading training institute for water management in the Netherlands and abroad. We develop and organise training courses for water professionals. Our courses are well known for its quality, technical knowledge and actual water know-how, combined with practical experiences and are given on vocational and academic level.

World Water Academy

TU Delft

Contact: Emilie Buist, Lindsey Schwidder

Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) builds on worldwide and leading experience with Water Resource Management and Sanitary Engineering. As project partner, we bring in experts to provide trainings for capacity building and to support research, as well as enthusiastic student teams to work on specific cases within the project. Furthermore, we have experience with Living Labs that bring together start-ups, scientists, as well as governmental and commercial parties.

TU Delft Water Management

Living Labs

TU Delft Global Initiative


Contact: Länk Vaessen

The Centre of Expertise Water Technology (CEW) is the knowledge and innovation centre for applied research and product development in the field of water technology. CEW brings together expertise from education, research, government and industry. By working together with students, CEW trains future staff for the high-profile Water sector.


Waterschap Brabantse Delta 

Contact: Henny Bron

Waterboard Brabantse Delta is a waterboard in the south of the Netherlands. The working area has more than 800,000 inhabitants, 21 municipalities and around 25,000 companies. The water board ensures safe dikes, sufficient water and clean water. The water board cleans the sewage water biologically before it returns to nature. This is done in 17 sewage treatment plants. 

Waterschap Brabantse Delta


University of Cape Town

Contact: Dr Kevin Winter

The University of Cape Town (UCT) is a public research university located in Cape Town in the Western Cape province of South Africa. UCT is the oldest higher education institute in South Africa and one of Africa’s leading teaching and research institutions.

University of Cape Town

Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences (RUAS)

Contact: Mariska Heijs 

Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences (RUAS for short) is a dynamic knowledge institute for higher professional education. Staff and students of the Bachelor Watermanagement, part of the School of Built Environment, actively participate in this project. As project partner, RUAS leads work package 2 on living labs and we bring in motivated students to work on cases. Our strength lies in connecting theory with real and innovative projects.

Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences


Contact: William Moraka

South African Local Government Association (SALGA) is an autonomous association of all 257 South African local governments. SALGA membership is voluntary and accounts to its members in terms of the SALGA Constitution and its governance framework regulating its structures and mandating processes.


Durban University of Technology

Contact: Dr Sheena Kumari

The Durban University of Technology (DUT) is a result of a merger in April 2002 of two prestigious Technikons: ML Sultan and Technikon Natal. DUT is a research institution at the cutting edge of higher education, technological training and research.

Durban University of Technology

City of Cape Town

Contact: Mzwandile Mkhize  

The City of Cape Town (CoCT) is the largest metropolitan municipality in the Western Cape province. The CoCT provides residents, business and industry with clean, safe and reliable drinking water and the treatment of wastewater. The CoCT includes a water and sanitation department that has the following branches: bulk water; reticulation; catchment, stormwater and river management; wastewater treatment works; water demand management and strategy; engineering and asset management; scientific services; finance and commercial; support services;  HR business partner.

City of Cape Town

Ethekwini Municipality

Contact: Dhevan Govender and Speedy Moodliar

Ethekwini Municipality is the largest metropolitan municipality in the province of KwaZulu-Natal that includes the city of Durban. Water and sanitation is a unit of the Ethekwini municipality and is responsible for the provision of water and sanitation services to all customers in the metropolitan area. The water and sanitation unit has the following departments: water operations, sanitation operations, scientific services, engineering services, customer services, auxiliary services.

Bridging the Water is part of the Orange Knowledge Programme.